3 Reasons Why Alcohol was Great in December

1. I gained weight

2. I had the first extended low mood I’ve had in 5 months

3. I felt like having a drink every day after the first

Why are these great reasons?

I obviously wasn’t convinced of the physical and psychological benefits of being alcohol free and needed reminding.

Are you sure it was the alcohol?

Yup. For 5 months my weight and mood have been stable(I’ve been positively, annoyingly happy), my sleep patterns were good and I felt the best I’ve felt in my life. Besides, alcohol is a depressant:

‘Alcohol is a depressant, which means it slows the function of the central nervous system. Alcohol actually blocks some of the messages trying to get to the brain. This alters a person’s perceptions, emotions, movement, vision, and hearing.’

kidshealth.org/teen/drug_alcohol/alcohol/alcohol.html

So I’m glad I had a drink in December because it was a big fat reminder of why not to.

Oh, and if you’re wondering what to hold in your hand at parties, I have some suggestions;

Diet soft drink(my fave Bundaberg Diet Lemon Lime and Bitters or  Gingerbeer)

Sparkling Mineral Water

Coffee

Someone’s else’s hand

Your wallet, car keys and licence because, lets face it, you’re going to end up being the designated driver.

Happy New Year Party people!

6 thoughts on “3 Reasons Why Alcohol was Great in December

  1. Lol! I get reminded of the bad side effects, but every Friday I can’t pour my glass of wine quick enough! I think the secret to drinking alcohol and appreciating it is to drink it every day, and then you chronically feel poorly, unless you have a drink …

    Like

  2. I quite alcohol cold turkey over a year ago as I began taking a lifesaving medication, the MAOI Parnate, & alcohol is strictly contraindicated! 🙂 Parnate was the perfect motivation for me to quit, and while yes, I miss the buzz that alcohol brought me sometimes, I am never, ever tempted to have a drink.

    Great alternative suggestions, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wish more people in my life would follow this rule. I was reminded over the holidays that most alcohol makes me feel awful. I haven’t gone completely cold turkey, though from time to time I quit for a month or so just to make sure I can. I do enjoy a glass of red wine every now and then, and I’ve found a sulfite-free one that’s pretty good — Our Daily Red. I’ll splurge and have a glass or two at parties with no ill effects. But yeah, I agree, it’s just not worth it if it makes you feel awful. I notice the low mood with my husband. He’s not a huge drinker, but occasionally he’ll have two or three beers and inevitably, the low mood will follow. He doesn’t make this association even though I’ve pointed it out (might be the reason — I suck at subtle.) Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wine has been difficult to give up; I love the way it looks in a cold glass, the idea of watching the dusk arrive with the long stem in you hand, the relaxed feeling. Glad you found one with no ill effects. I’m an all or nothing girl so I find it easier to just say no.
      Cheers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

